Bakemonogatari episodes 1 + 2

bakemonogatari_5jpg

I recently watched the first two episodes of this Anime and so far, I’m hooked. The visuals are great, and the characters are both amusing and interesting.  There are also a lot of funny moments. The story seems to deal with supernatural stuff, and while I’m not the biggest fan of things in that category, I was easily sucked in. I’m impressed. I’m really just going to be talking about the characters more than the actual episodes here.

Words cannot express how amazed I was at the intro to the first episode of Bakemonogatari. Right away, I knew that I made a good decision by starting to watch it, and that I would enjoy it. The first two characters we are introduced to are Koyomi Araragi and Hitagi Senjōgahara.

I think that Koyomi is a good main character for the most part. It’s hard to say since there hasn’t been a lot of him yet. I’ll have to reassess how I feel on him after the next few episodes. For now, I like him though. He seems smart, yet dumb at the same time. Now, his back story…I was shocked when he said he used to be a vampire. I thought it sort of felt like it came out of nowhere, but it did explain something I was wondering about. I don’t know…I thought that whole part just felt…not serious enough, and too light. I’d imagine it would have been a negative experience for him, and painful to talk about for that reason. I am most likely wrong, though.

Moving on to Hitagi. She is definitely my favorite character so far. Right when I was starting to think the first episode was getting boring, she attacks Koyomi and staples the inside of his mouth. I am still trying to figure out how she keeps all of those writing materials on her body at all times and was able to get so many in her hands so quickly to use as weapons against Koyomi. I am going to need to obtain screen caps of that one scene.  Hitagi saved the first two episodes for me. I found the concept of her being “weightless” very intriguing. That is, until I found out it was from a god, and a Crab god at that. (Like I said, stuff like that doesn’t really pique my interest, generally speaking) I am also in love with Hitagi’s personality. She started off looking like a shy and quiet girl, and then quickly became vicious. I also like how despite acting like that, she is able to joke around and even be a bit demeaning towards Koyomi. There’s a lot more I can say about Hitagi, but I don’t even know how to put some of it into words, so I’m going to stop myself here. Regarding her mother being involved in a cult, I thought it made her back story (as well as episode 2) much more interesting.

The third character seen in episode one is Tsubasa Hanekawa, and she is class president (with Koyomi being the vice president) Honestly, I didn’t think she was that interesting. Although she is only in the first part of episode one for a while, she quickly bored me. Well, it really was her personality and not the scene with her itself. The talk about Hitagi was interesting enough for me, but at the end of it, I was starting to become bored from so much of her. And right at that moment, there is an intense scene with Hitagi, and she saves the day. Not much else to say about Tsubasa at this point. I do hope that later on, my opinion changes and I like her more after getting to know her character better.

The fourth and final Bakemonogatari character so far is Meme Oshino. There hasn’t been much revealed about him yet, so like Tsubasa, there isn’t much I can say about him. At times, he seems a bit too eccentric for my tastes, but he does have his moments, and it looks like he’ll be a part of upcoming episodes (helping anyone Koyomi brings to him would be my guess) And I’m not going to lie, I was impressed when he pinned the Crab God to the floor and crushed it. Go Meme.

That’s really all I have to say for now, really looking forward to the next episode.

1 Response to “Bakemonogatari episodes 1 + 2”


  1. 1 Onibaku July 19, 2009 at 8:55 AM

    This show definitely is addicting. The third episode recently came out and I just find the characters awesome. Not only were the character designs great but the personalities were great too.


Leave a Reply

